What did the germans think of the M2 50 cal? Great answer on Quora.... and what Enlisted is missing most IMO

Love this answer - not sure it is entirely what a Fritz on the front line was thinking about when being shot at, but it does give a bit of thought to the things that REALLY matter in war - which is not individual weapons or whether the M2 balances the FG42, or how fast the grind is.

The lack of post-grind gameplay and real world economics puts Enlisted firmly into the not-a-serious-wargame pot for me - a bit of fun… and I’ve been RPG-ing and building characters for over 40 years so do enjoy that… but then what?

Originally Answered: What did the Germans think of the .50 Browning machine gun fighting against it?

The Browning was justifiably hated, but perhaps not for the reasons you think.

Look, you’re on a Q&A site in the Weapons category asking a question about one particular model of weapon. I get that fetishizing weapons is fun. I did that too, when I was younger. But weapons don’t win wars. Beans and bullets do, and the M2 was a constant reminder that the Americans had more of both, and that was honestly more important than anything else about it. You have to admit, ‘machinegun but bullet bigger’ is not a hard idea to have, nor was it one unique to the US (the other Axis powers sans Germany did field 12.7mm MGs). Transporting machinegun numbers of bigger bullets is hard to do, though!

Staring down the barrel of a 2cm or 3.7cm cannon - Germany’s ‘slap it on any given halftrack’ direct-fire support weapons, as it had no truly analogous antimateriel MG - was just as deadly and demoralizing.

What made the M2 special was that the Americans

• always had ammunition for them, and
  • slapped one on everything, often along with someone explicitly to crew it