The general history of weapon and squad balance

I have been playing Enlisted now for quite some time, things have changed alot - things still change all the time and looking back… yes the game has improved alot, many balance issues got addressed.

However I would like to do some “time travelling” with you folks and check out the history of weapon balance.

I think it is time to look at the mistakes and achievements of the past - to learn from it and see what could possibly change to make the game better.

I invite you all to share you opinions on the past - was there something that you miss? Was there something that you hated?

I’ll start by going back to my first matches in Enlisted - I started playing back during “closed beta testing” of the Moscow campaign… and let me tell you the game was different.

Enlisteds initial core balance was build around a strong “asymmetrical balance” concept:

-Germans had better MGs
-Soviets had better SMGs

That being said, unlike today, MGs and SMGs had practically the same accuracy, because dispersion hasn’t been a thing yet - so MGs were actually even more accurate than today’s select fire rifles.

MGs were increadibly powerful and practically hyper assault rifles - everybody agrees that the nerfs were justified and needed.

However, here comes the detail that people don’t think about - SMGs were also much much stronger back in the days, because the damage drop off was much much smaller thus the effective range was easily 100 meters for most SMGs.

Practically speaking, everything was much stronger even semi autos were super powerful, because of no dispersion AND because of them having practically no fire rate cap - you could “almost” shoot as fast as you could press left mouse button.

Now now now, did I say everything much stronger? Well, Mortars and artillery? Much stronger though - we shouldn’t forget - there was friendly fire.
Same with bombs from planes.