U.S. Camo uniforms feedback

I’m not going to pretend to be a real expert on this stuff, but I am an amateur gear collector and historian in real life that has all sorts of US military camos, and I have some feedback on the implementation of US camo uniforms.

So I am going to start with what’s in game, and I am going to start with a uniform that I am actually happy with:

The Marine raiders are pretty well done. Their camo, in my opinion, is a tad too dark orangish, and they are wearing the wrong pattern of pants, but overall a pretty faithful representation in a video game.

The reversible camo on the raider’s jacket is about perfect. That jungle camo looks like it actually should.

The jungle camo is what I have most issues with.

The jungle camo is all over the place. The patterns are mismatched, the jacket doesn’t exist, and the helmet is using a camo that never existed. The pattern on the raider’s jacket is far superior.

The trousers are the closest thing to accurate, but like the beach raider camo, its in P44 style which wasn’t used in the early war period.

In real life, all these camo patterns were made from the same material, and there were only slight deviations with the dyes.

8 Likes

(Continuing post because of link/embed limit)

There were only a handful of patterns of this uniform.

The first pattern was a reversible jumpsuit:

This pattern was used by both the US Army and Marines. It was more prevalent in the US Army though, and it was used by Army forces in both Europe and the Pacific theaters.

The USMC developed a new combat uniform using the pattern, the P42.

It also included a matching reversible helmet cover.

The P42 uniform set was available to Marines from the beginning of their combat operations. The P42 trousers are distinct because the have only one pocket on each face of the trousers, and it’s staggered.

3 Likes

(continuing thread because of link/embed limit)